Members and Donors

The Lens is the only reader-supported, nonprofit newsroom that focuses exclusively on public-policy issues facing New Orleans and the Gulf Coast. With the support of readers like you, we provide thoughtfully researched articles, data and documents. We aim to foster transparent, accountable and engaged government.

We need your support!

Become a Lens member
Your membership level:


Explore all benefits and membership levels

































































































































































































































Tribute messages

"Evan Charles Lane Lauriat" —Phillips Lauriat and Marjory Russakoff

"In honor of Elaine Lauriat, Wesleyan Class of '09." —Phillips Lauriat and Marjory Russakoff

"In honor of Lane Lauriat." —Phillips Lauriat and Marjory Russakoff

"Karen Gadbois" —Mary Rowe

"In honor of Mary Ellen Ross." —Margaret Ross-Martin

"In memory of Jerry Romig" —Mark Romig

"In honor of Karen Gadbois." —Mark Romig

"In honor of The Free Press" —Pamela Jewson and Pete Swenson

"In honor of the incredible reporting of Matt Davis!" —Eric Jensen

"In honor of those who have lost their lives speaking the truth to power. Thank you Lens staff for being the "truth tellers" of the Gulf Coast." —Tessa Jackson

"In honor of Jean B. Boebel who believed in the power of clean government practices." —Amy Jean Boebel

"In honor of New Orleans, city of my birth, and in pride of its and your indomitable spirit! Good luck!!" —Paula Hoffman

"In honor of Monica Edelstein & Kenneth Hoffman." —Paula Hoffman

"Jed Horne" —Barbara Hill

"The data driven and compassionate mission on behalf of ALL New Orleanians, the reporters who dig in and Anne Mueller who keeps inviting me to events. I'm in Boston but a frequent visitor." —Paul Tamburello

"In memory of Kerry Hearns." —Ingrid Hearns-Alexander

"In honor of Louis, Verna Mae & Kerry Hearns." —Ingrid Hearns-Alexander

"Karen gadbois" —Jeremy Head and Stacy Head

"In honor of Steve Myers. In honor of Aida Myers' first day of school in New Orleans." —Bruce Bettis and Lynn Bettis

"In honor of Steve Myers and his new baby Auden Flynn Myers." —Bruce Bettis and Lynn Bettis

"In honor of Aida and Auden Myers." —Bruce Bettis and Lynn Bettis

"In honor of the children of New Orleans." —Bruce Bettis and Lynn Bettis

"The great work of Lens' journalists" —Victoria Bush

"In honor of my fellow journos who take the craft seriously and remember life before blogs." —Jewel Bush

"Tracie Washington (seriously though don't print that)" —Scott Sternberg

"Lenore Stephens" —Jill Stephens

"Thankful for Bob Marshall's environmental reporting." —Chris Staudinger

"In honor of Linda Usdin's birthday." —Burka Family

"Steve Beatty" —Keith Marshall and Mildred Ball

"Thanks to Steve and the gang." —Keith Marshall and Mildred Ball

"In honor Linda Usdin and Anne Mueller." —Florence Andre

"In honor of Anne Mueller." —Stephen Algero

"In memory of Mrs. Merle S. Marshall." —Merle Albers

"good journalism" —Thomas Abrams

"Banking on the Future of The Lens campaign. Good luck! (:" —Thomas Abrams

"The tremendous work of Steve Beatty, Anne Mueller and the entire staff of The Lens" —Andy Hall / Wisconsin Watch

"In honor of Louis Nelson." —Sue Hall

"In honor of ace journalist Steve Beatty." —Michael Gray

"In honor of Karen Gadbois." —Roberta Gratz

"all of you" —Roberta Gratz

"In honor Aida Schooler." —Karen Gadbois

"In honor of Ashley Morris." —Clay Kirby

"In memory of Mrs. Merle S. Marshall." —Richard and Christine Duncan

"In honor of all those affected by flooding in New Orleans and surrounding areas." —Nancy Dinoto

"In honor of Bev Nichols." —Lois Simpson

"In honor of Karen Gadbois." —David Simon and Laura Lippman

"In honor of SEIU Local21 LA." —SEIU Local 21 LA

"In honor of the tradition of daily news in this magic and great newspaper city." —Linda Santi

"All of the New Orleanians that I have known, those native and those reborn here." —Darlene Wolnik

"In honor of Karen Gadbois for her Ethics in Journalism award." —Holly Wiseman

"My grandmother, Carmen Schaubuhut, who taught me to be an active citizen." —Jessica Orgeron

"Bert Odem" —Sarah Odem

"In honor of W.I. "Bert" Odem." —Sarah Odem

"In honor of Deb Cotton." —Ray Nichols and Bev Nichols

"In honor of Ana." —Jana Napoli

"REAL, not FAKE news." —David Munroe

"In honor of Stephanie Grace." —Christopher Dendy

"In honor of Karen Gadbois' continued vision." —Rick and Ina Davis

"In honor of John McDonough, 1779 - 1850." —Keith Crawford

"Marion Turner" —Ariella Cohen

"In honor of Portia Rotkin, my grandmother who always taught me to ask questions and pay attention." —Ariella Cohen

"Betty Buckley Cochran, we believed in the power of the truth." —Betty Buckley Cochran and Stephen Cochran

"In honor of Nathan Bolton and Bill Chapman, former newspaper publishers." —Nathan Chapman

"In honor of the best in the business." —Jessica Williams

"In honor of Jed Horne." —Jane Wholey

"In honor of my mother, who wasn't afraid to ask the tough questions." —Alan Maclachlan

"Karen Gadbois" —Meg Lousteau

"In honor of Karen Gadbois." —Meg Lousteau

"In honor of Vital Information!" —Catherine Mizell-Nelson

"In honor of Dana Eness." —Catherine Mizell-Nelson

"Austin Lavin" —Carter Lavin

"Marta Jewson's Lusher article" —Leo Laventhal

"In honor of John T. O'Connor." —Dolores Walker

"New orleans" —Stacy Souchaud

"Thanks for great Lycee Francais coverage this year!" —Molly Vigour

"In honor of Karen Gadbois." —Wayne Troyer

"In honor of independent, truthful reporting." —Barbara Forrest

"In honor of Don Theriot." —Karin Giger and Laurance Eustis

"Rosalie Grego" —Diane Webber-Thrush

"My grandmother, Marion" —Kristine Kovach

"The First Amendment" —Carolyn Scofield

"Marta jewson" —brandon strunk

"Damian Tatum" —Michael Smith

"The Lens Staff" —Leslie Gerwin

"Cynthia Joyce" —Bebe Ryan

"Walter Pierce" —Kathy Abshire

"Educational transparency" —Daniel Manriquez

"Louisiana's Coast" —Bess Carrick

"Paul Poorman" —Tim Smith

"The lens' reporting team!!!" —Cynthia Joyce

"ELECTION MAPS <3" —Emily Ashley

"Thanks for the NOPD/FF millage coverage map." —Emily Ashley

"Donald Trump" —Cheryl Gerber

"avenue cafe" —miklos mendler

"intrepid reporters everywhere" —James Stratton

"My son, lukas" —Blair Kolb

"Phillip G Oesterman" —Tom Capps

"Betty Buckley Cochran" —Steve Cochran

"Bob Marshall" —Guy Seaburg

"Steve Beatty" —Matt Davis

"Armand Reginald LaPorte DeJean" —Julee LaPorte

"Jennifer Nehrbass" —Doug Nehrbass

"Sarah Morse, who did such great work with Karen discovering all those uncut lawns." —Jason Saul

"Bob Marshall" —Meredith Dowling

"In honor of Rachel Lee and Hannah Wolfman-Arent" —Marcus Smith

"Educational Transparency!" —Julie Sanders

"In honor of Norma Hotard, a born reporter." —Elizabeth Scott

"cypress forests" —scott eustis

"The Courier and Daily Comet" —Keith Magill

"Native New Orleanians" —Michelle & Kimball Schlafly

"IHO our son Charles B. Maldonado reporter extraordinaire!" —David Gillespie and Deborah Gillespie

"In honor of Charles B. Maldonado" —David Gillespie and Deborah Gillespie

"Good Journalism Everywhere" —Avram Penner

"In memory of Robert C. Meder, Jr." —Lynn Chao and Steve Beatty

"In gratitude to Steve Beatty." —Lynn Chao and Steve Beatty

"Democracy" —Kate Siemens

"Marta Jewson's awesome work" —Subscriber Subscriber

"Donna Lednicky" —Sean Chadwell

"Diana Pinckley" —Thomas Tuohy

"James Geraghty" —Vanessa Murphree

"Amazon Alexa" —Abram Handler

"Journalist Eric Williams" —Daniel Morrison

"Free Press" —rexter chambers